Best answer: What does sin stand for safety?

• Injection; penetrating skin Page 4 The key to dealing with hazardous material spills is to remember S.I.N. (Safety, Isolation, Notification).

What are the three protective actions identified in the DOT Emergency Response Guidebook?

The guides identify potential hazards (health, and fire or explosion) and emergency actions (initial, fire, spill or leak, and first aid) associated with each material.

What does the R in ERG stand for?

Response. Emergency Response Guide. What does the R stand for in ERG? Safety of responders.

What can the placards tell first responders when they arrive?

DOT placards provide information on the nature of the cargo. … Many UN Numbers, which may appear on or below the placard, represent a variety of compounds which may pose varying risks. If the shipper and truck numbers are know, CHEMTREC7 (1-800-424-9300) can often identify the cargo.

What do the colors mean in the ERG?

The ERG is organized into easily recognized colors. WHITE – Introduction, instruction, guidance, placards, and more. YELLOW – Materials ordered by 4-Digit UN/NA Number. BLUE – Materials ordered by dangerous goods material name.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How old are Catholic bishops?

What is the primary hazard for guide 168?

TOXIC; Extremely Hazardous. Inhalation extremely dangerous; may be fatal. Contact with gas or liquefied gas may cause burns, severe injury and/or frostbite.

What does a hot placard mean?

Is in a liquid phase with a flash point at or above 38 °C (100 °F) that is intentionally heated and offered for transportation or transported at or above its flash point;or, Is in a solid phase and at a temperature at or above 240 °C (464 °F).

What does tih stand for Hazmat?

Toxic Inhalation Hazard (TIH) –. Term used to describe gases and volatile. liquids that are toxic when inhaled. ( Same as Poison Inhalation Hazard, or PIH)

What does evade stand for Hazmat?

What does the A stand for in the EVADE acronym? Assist victims cautiously.

How many hazard classes are there?

The DOT separates hazardous materials into nine different categories or “hazard classes.” They are defined by specific hazardous properties and have distinct regulatory requirements for packaging, markings, and labels.

What is the blue section of the Emergency Response Guidebook?

Blue Section

The third section, with blue page borders, references the material in alphabetical order of its name and identifies the appropriate guide number to reference in the Orange Section). Items highlighted in green in this section will also have evacuation distances included in the Green Section.

How do you make a ERG?

Members of the public may purchase a copy of the ERG through the GPO Bookstore and other commercial suppliers.

What are dot classes explosive under?

Class 1 dangerous goods are explosive substances and articles.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Where is Elevation Church live?

What are the 9 DOT hazard classes?

The nine hazard classes are as follows:

  • Class 1: Explosives.
  • Class 2: Gases.
  • Class 3: Flammable and Combustible Liquids.
  • Class 4: Flammable Solids.
  • Class 5: Oxidizing Substances, Organic Peroxides.
  • Class 6: Toxic Substances and Infectious Substances.
  • Class 7: Radioactive Materials.
  • Class 8: Corrosives.

What are the green pages in the ERG?

The green pages indicate the Table of Initial Isolation and Protective Action Distances. This section of the ERG describes the distances necessary for initial isolation around a chemical incident as well as the distance downwind that persons must be protected.